Will this be relevant two years from now?

Two years ago, I had no idea that I wanted to go into health sciences. I thought I wanted to be an author and write young adult novels while sipping on tea. Side note: I still have not acquired the taste of tea, so in no way shape or form did that plan work out.

Two short years ago, I wrote a short little snippet for a contest on Figment. Below is The Final Destination.



 

“What am I doing?” I thought to myself as I walked in to the dim lighted room with beads dangling from the ceiling and dark fabrics hanging from the walls.

            “I was expecting you” Said a middle aged woman dressed a black dress that looked more like a cape due to its huge sleeves. The gold head piece that sat perfectly on her head complemented her straight burgundy hair.

“Take a seat, my dear” motioning toward the red velvet colored table that held a glass ball as a centerpiece.

As commanded I took the closest seat.

“Let’s see what I can find…” Said the old woman peering into the glass ball.

For thirty seconds the psychic seems mesmerized into a blank state. Suddenly the trance was broken and she looked up at me with a grin plastered onto her face.

“Scared of the future. Huh?”

I nodded my head up and down not sure what else to say.

“Well seventeen is the age of decisions. Deciding who you are, who you want to be, and the life you want to live. It’s most certainly difficult for a young woman, especially when you do not even know what you are going to be doing a month from now nevertheless years from this moment.”

“What should I do?”

“Let me look” she said refocusing back on the glass center piece.

The wait was much longer this time to receive a response. My foot began to start twitching and my finger nails began to race on the table. Was she going to tell me my parents were right of not following my dreams of becoming a writer and to look for a more realistic career? Had I placed my dreams too far out of reach for a small town girl? Was it even remotely possible that I could succeed? Was college even for me? No campus that I had step foot on felt like home and the added pressure of need to choose one for next school year made my head spin. Not only did I not know which school to go to but what if I choose one out of desperation?

Her head rose so her eyes were at the same level as mine. For a while we just looked at each other because based on the look on her face she did not know what to say.

“My dear…” she started. “I cannot tell you what your future entails because…” she stopped trying to think of what else to say. “Child, you are a gifted person and all of the paths you will come into contact with, no matter which ones you choose, will lead you to the same destination.”

“What is my destination?”

“Think of every vein in your body. These veins represent the winding and switch paths you will encounter. Just like all the veins lead to you heart, so do your paths. That, my dear is your final destination.”



 

Even though I have narrowed my career goals to be focused in the health sciences, I still have not figured out which profession is the right one for me. With all of the thoughts in my head I remembered what I had wrote when I was first thinking about college. The specifics might not be relevant but the overall general themes are the same. My life has changed so much in the past two year and in the next two years it will continue to change. No matter which path I choose to go, I know I will be happy. And the beauty of life is that if I am not happy with where I am going, I can take a different route.

In school, there is so much pressure to choose the right college and the right career path. Odds are that if you follow what your heart is telling you to do while using the mind for some logic, in the end you will be happy.

Leave a Reply

