Body Attitude > Body Image

Body Image. Just the phrase makes me cringe and want to cover my ears and run away.

Like everyone else, I was brought up on the phrase body image. There is a good body image and bad body image. When it comes personal identity there is more than just good and bad. For me, some days are filled with an overwhelming sense of self worth. Other days I wish I was someone else. Most days are neutral or somewhere in between. The fact is it is normal to not always have a positive body image. One thing that should be focused on more is ‘body attitude.’ Not only does the term have no strings attached but it better represents what is trying to be accomplished.

My thoughts circulating around about the phrase ‘body image’ bring me back to my ten-year-old self. At the time, I had no grasp of a positive self image. The only things I was aware of was what I was not. I did not have a thigh gap. I was not able to clearly see my collarbone. I did not have a oval face shape. I did not have the height of a super model. I did not have long legs. I did not have clear skin. The body image I had created for myself was extremely negative. Everyday I would look in the mirror and only see things that needed to be changed.

Attitude is so much more powerful than an image. An attitude can be easily changed, whereas an image is hard to erase. The power to change your mind is a great thing. It leads to innovation and new ideas. An image is something that is given to you. An attitude is something you make for yourself. The human body is more than just plain and simple, it is what you make it to be.

To this day, I pretty much look the same. There came a point over the years when I realized I was looking at everything all wrong and my ‘body attitude’ changed. I may not have a thigh gap or long legs, but my legs are strong and powerful. It is healthy to have meat on my bones; it is unhealthy for me to have such an evident collarbone. I have my fathers high cheek bones and round face, I am proud when people can tell that I am his daughter. I may not be the height of a supermodel, but that doesn’t really matter because I realized I cannot walk in heels anyway. Acne is not fun but it is normal. It takes time to change your ‘body attitude.’ Even now it would be untruthful for me to say that I am 100% comfortable in my skin. Learning to love your body instead of hating it is a leap in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

